Educational center

Alive mind

An ancient inhabitant of a cave in the Caucasus turned out to be a carrier of the gene of the modern Western Eurasian population
2021-07-20 10:39 An international team of scientists has identified DNA from the soil in a Georgian cave. Thanks to this, the researchers were able to restore the human genome at the age of 25 thousand years, without having any skeletal remains. The Satsurblia cave in the west of Georgia was inhabited by people in different periods of the Paleolithic. However, the...
Scientists have developed a method for treating joint diseases that has no side effects
2021-07-07 10:53 Scientists of the Clinical Medical Multidisciplinary Center named after St. Luke's KFU developed and put into practice a method for the treatment of joint diseases using autologous plasma (PRP). When compared with other methods, the use of platelet-rich plasma injections showed the highest results. The study of the effectiveness of 3 methods o...
UN chief: Desertification and drought destabilizing well-being of 3.2 billion people
2021-06-18 11:04 Land degradation from climate change and the expansion of agriculture, cities and infrastructure “undermines the well-being of 3.2 billion people”, the UN chief said on Wednesday in his message for World Day to Combat Desertification and Drought.  “Humanity is waging a relentless, self-destructive wa...
Blood-based Biomarker Can Detect 13 Neurodegenerative Diseases
2021-06-08 19:42 A new study published in the journal Nature Communications reports that a single blood-based biomarker can detect the presence of 13 neurodegenerative diseases, from frontotemporal dementia to motor neuron disease. The test cannot specifically distinguish between each disorder, but is instead proposed as a way to determine whether patients suffer ...
A wayward skull, at-home fossil analyses and a first for Antarctic amphibians
2021-05-25 19:04 Paleontologists had to adjust to stay safe during the COVID-19 pandemic. Many had to postpone fossil excavations, temporarily close museums and teach the next generation of fossil hunters virtually instead of in person. But at least parts of the show could go on during the pandemic — with some significant changes. “For paleontologists...
Archaeologists discover oldest human burial site in Africa
2021-05-07 12:15 In the Kenyan cave of Panga-ya-Saidi, archaeologists have discovered a burial site with an age of 78.3 thousand years, from the Middle Stone Age. According to scientists, this burial pit with skeletal remains can be called the oldest on the African continent found so far. The first bone fragments were identified in 2013, but only four years later,...
New species of duck-billed dinosaur found in Japan
2021-04-30 12:32 It is distinguished by the absence of a characteristic hadrosaur head crest. Scientists from Japan and the United States believe that this discovery forces us to reconsider the ideas about the migration of duck-billed dinosaurs, which did not move from North America to Asia, but vice versa. Hadrosaurs are the most common type of dinosaur. They had ...
The planet’s on ‘red alert’ UN chief warns leaders at President Biden’s climate summit
2021-04-28 17:44 World leaders must act now and put the planet on a green path because “we are at the verge of the abyss”, UN Secretary-General António Guterres said on Thursday in his address to the virtual climate summit convened by United States President Joseph Biden.  “Mother Nature is not waiting”, the UN chief warned, as ...

Образовательный центр

Alive mind

Древний житель пещеры на Кавказе оказался носителем гена современной западно-евразийской популяции
2021-07-20 10:39 Международная команда ученых идентифицировала ДНК из почвы в грузинской пещере. Благодаря этому исследователям удалось восстановить геном человека возрастом 25 тысяч лет, не имея никаких скелетных останков.Пещера Сацурблия на западе Грузии была заселена людьми в разные периоды палеолита. Однако в ней нашли останки лишь одного человеческого индивида...
Учёные разработали не имеющий побочных эффектов способ лечения заболеваний суставов
2021-07-07 10:53 Учёные Клинического медицинского многопрофильного центра  им. Святителя Луки КФУ разработали и внедрили в практику способ лечения заболеваний суставов с использованием аутологичной плазмы (PRP). При сравнении с другими методиками применение инъекций плазмы, богатой тромбоцитами, показало наиболее высокие результаты.Исследование эффективности 3...
Опустынивание и засухи подрывают благосостояние 3,2 млрд человек
2021-06-18 11:04 Деградация земель в результате изменения климата, расширения сельскохозяйственных площадей, урбанизации и строительства инфраструктурных объектов чревата серьезными экологическими и экономическими последствиями. Она обернется ухудшением благосостояния более 3,2 миллиарда человек. Во всем мире треть всех земельных почв уже подверглась деградаци...
Биомаркер на основе крови может обнаружить 13 нейродегенеративных заболеваний
2021-06-08 19:42 В новом исследовании, опубликованном в журнале Nature Communications, сообщается, что один биомаркер на основе крови может обнаружить наличие 13 нейродегенеративных заболеваний, от лобно-височной деменции до болезни двигательных нейронов.Тест не может конкретно различать каждое расстройство, но вместо этого предлагается как способ определ...
Найдены первые в Антарктиде окаменелые образцы древней амфибии
2021-05-25 19:04 Палеонтологи из Университета штата Вашингтон (США) провели анализ окаменелостей Micropholis stowi, амфибии размером с саламандру, которая жила в раннем триасе – вскоре после крупнейшего на Земле массового вымирания примерно 252 миллиона лет назад. Ранее останки Micropholis stowi встречались исключительно в Южной Африке. В новой работе ученые описыв...
Археологи обнаружили древнейшее человеческое захоронение в Африке
2021-05-07 12:15 В кенийской пещере Панга-я-Саиди археологи обнаружили захоронение возрастом 78,3 тысячи лет, времен среднего каменного века. По словам ученых, эту погребальную яму со скелетными останками можно назвать самой старой на Африканском континенте из найденных до сих пор.Первые фрагменты костей идентифицировали еще в 2013 году, но лишь спустя че...
В Японии нашли новый вид утконосого динозавра
2021-04-30 12:32 Его отличает отсутствие характерного для гадрозавров головного гребня. Ученые из Японии и США считают, что это открытие заставляет пересмотреть представления о миграции утконосых динозавров, которые двигались не из Северной Америки в Азию, а наоборот.Гадрозавры — самый распространенный вид динозавров. Они имели приплюснутые морды, были растительноя...
Глава ООН на саммите по климату: мировые лидеры должны принять срочные меры по борьбе с глобальным потеплением
2021-04-28 17:44 Средняя глобальная температура уже на 1,2 градуса Цельсия превысила доиндустриальный уровень. Дальнейший рост этого показателя может обернуться катастрофой для человечества. С такими словами на виртуальном Саммите лидеров по вопросам климата, организованном властями США, выступил глава ООН Антониу Гутерриш.  «Последнее десятилетие было самым ж...

Свидетельство о регистрации СМИ ЭЛ № ФС 77 - 79130 выдано Роскомнадзором 15.09.2020