Educational center

Alive mind

Highview Power Breaks Ground on 250MWh CRYOBattery Long Duration Energy Storage Facility
LONDON and MANCHESTER, UK – Highview Power, a global leader in long duration energy storage solutions, in partnership with Carlton Power, announced today that it is beginning the execution process on a 50 MW liquid air energy storage facility (with a minimum of 250MWh) in Greater Manchester, United Kingdom. The CRYOBattery™ will be...
A new neurotransmitter system based on trace amines can restore nerve cells in adults
Many modern drugs are designed to affect neurotransmitter systems, in which chemicals transmit signals between neurons or from neurons to other cells. Among the most well — known such systems are dopamine, noradrenaline, serotonin, histamine, glutamate, and many others. Previously, scientists of St. Petersburg state University together with c...
Thanks to the UNEP global initiative, the use of plastic is decreasing, while secondary raw materials are increasing
The content of recycled materials in plastic packaging increased by 22 percent in 2019, while the use of reusable packaging materials increased by 0.1 percent. This is stated in a new report of the United Nations environment Programme (UNEP), dedicated to the progress achieved over the year in the framework of the global initiative "New econom...
First complete reconstruction of the dinosaur brain obtained
Thanks to the good preservation of the skull, Brazilian scientists were able to recreate the brain of one of the most ancient dinosaurs — Buriolestes schultzi. The discovery helped shed light on the behavior of these animals. The behavior of dinosaurs is one of the most interesting and at the same time difficult scientific puzzles. Reconstruc...
Lost for a century chameleon rediscovered in Madagascar
A species of chameleon that has not been observed for more than a hundred years has been found-the Voeltzkowi Chameleon, or Furcifer voeltzkowi, was rediscovered during a research expedition to Madagascar, during which several surprisingly bright individuals of this species were discovered. First described in science in 1893, voeltskov's chame...
Denisovan DNA found in sediments of Baishiya Karst Cave on Tibetan Plateau
One year after the publication of research on the Xiahe mandible, the first Denisovan fossil found outside of Denisova Cave, the same research team has now reported their findings of Denisovan DNA from sediments of the Baishiya Karst Cave (BKC) on the Tibetan Plateau where the Xiahe mandible was found. The study was published in Science o...
Scientists have revised the mechanism of the first eukaryotic organisms
Researchers from the University of Utrecht in the Netherlands and The Institute of biomedical research in Barcelona (Spain) reviewed the mechanism of the first eukaryotic organisms. It turned out that the evolution from simple bacterial cells to complex eukaryotic cells was different than previously thought.The researchers presented their findings ...
Africa climate change report reveals heat rising north and south, Sahel getting wetter
Africa needs to prepare better for climate change by responding to a wide range of potential risks, a multi-agency report led by the UN World Meteorological Organization (WMO) said on Monday, the first in a series of continent-by-continent assessments. “In recent months we have seen devastating floods,...

Образовательный центр

Alive mind

В Британии строят мощную криобатарею, которая будет хранить энергию в виде сжиженного воздуха
В Великобритании набирает обороты новый проект, который обещает стать самой крупной системой хранения энергии в Европе. Это комплекс CRYOBattery от компании Highview Power на 250 МВт⋅ч, который использует криогенные технологии, чтобы превращать воздух в жидкость, способную хранить и отдавать энергию в течение длительного времени.CRYOBattery планиру...
Новая нейромедиаторная система на основе следовых аминов способна восстанавливать нервные клетки у взрослых особей
Многие современные лекарства созданы на основе воздействия на нейротрансмиттерные системы, в которых химические вещества передают сигналы между нейронами или от нейронов к другим клеткам. Среди наиболее известных таких систем — дофаминовая, норадреналиновая, серотониновая, гистаминовая, глутаматная и многие другие...
Благодаря глобальной инициативе ЮНЕП использование пластика сокращается, а вторичного сырья – растет
Содержание вторичного сырья в пластиковой упаковке выросло в 2019 году на 22 процента, а использование многоразовых упаковочных материалов – на 0,1 процента. Об этом говорится в новом докладе Программы ООН по окружающей среде (ЮНЕП), посвященном прогрессу, которого удалось достичь за год в рамках глобальной инициативы «Новая экономика пластмас...
Получена первая полная реконструкция мозга динозавра
Благодаря хорошей сохранности черепа бразильские ученые смогли воссоздать мозг одного из самых древних динозавров — Buriolestes schultzi. Открытие помогло пролить свет на поведение этих животных.                                            &...
Потерянный на столетие хамелеон вновь открыт на Мадагаскаре
Найден вид хамелеона, который не наблюдался более ста лет – Хамелеон Воельцкова, или Furcifer voeltzkowi, был обнаружен заново во время исследовательской экспедиции на Мадагаскар, в ходе которой было обнаружено несколько удивительно ярких особей этого вида.Впервые описанный в науке в 1893 году, хамелеон Воельцкова не видели с 1913 года, благодаря ч...
Ученые впервые обнаружили ДНК денисовца в Тибете
Международная группа ученых обнаружила ДНК денисовского человека в отложениях карстовой пещеры Байшия, расположенной на северо-востоке Тибетского плато. Это открытие подтверждает, что денисовцы жили в Тибете. Об этом пишет научный портал EurekAlert! со ссылкой на Китайскую академию наук.Денисовский человек – вымерший подвид...
Ученые пересмотрели механизм возникновения первых эукариотических организмов
Исследователи из Утрехтского университета в Нидерландах и Института биомедицинских исследований в Барселоне (Испания) пересмотрели механизм возникновения первых эукариотических организмов. Оказалось, что эволюция от простых бактериальных клеток до сложных эукариотических клеток шла иначе, чем считалось ранее. Свои выводы исследователи представили ...
Изменение климата угрожает развитию африканских стран, а также жизни и здоровью их жителей
Рост температуры воздуха, повышение уровня моря, изменение норм выпадения осадков и увеличение числа экстремальных погодных явлений. Эти последствия изменения климата подрывают социально-экономическое развитие африканских стран, а иногда даже представляют прямую угрозу жизни, здоровью и безопасности их жителей.К таким выводам пришли авторы доклада,...

Свидетельство о регистрации СМИ ЭЛ № ФС 77 - 79130 выдано Роскомнадзором 15.09.2020