Educational center

Alive mind

World Creativity and Innovation Day 21 April
Celebrating the creative economy in 2021 After a year of pandemic-induced lockdowns, there couldn’t be a better time to appreciate the creative economy. The United Nations is doing just this as it marks 2021 as the International Year of the Creative Economy for Sustainable Development. UNCTAD, alongside UNESCO, WIPO, ...
The UN has announced a new initiative to clean up the oceans of garbage
Today, the coasts of many developing countries are littered with plastic bottles, fishing gear, and various kinds of packaging. During the pandemic, the mountains of this garbage were replenished with disposable masks and gloves. Recently, UN agencies announced a new initiative to combat marine debris and clean up the world's oceans. The new pr...
Walter’s Duiker Photographed for First Time in the Wild
An international team of zoologists led by scientists from the Wildlife Conservation Research Unit (WildCRU) at the University of Oxford has snapped an image of the Walter’s duiker (Philantomba walteri) in Fazao-Malfakassa National Park in Togo. The Walter’s duiker (Philantomba walteri). Image credit: Wildlife Conse...
Chemists of St. Petersburg State University have created renewable polymers based on plant raw materials
Employees of the Cluster Catalysis laboratory of St. Petersburg State University synthesized polymers from biomass processing products. The peculiarity of the new materials is the simplicity of their recycling. Modern life is unthinkable without polymer materials. These include plastics, fibers, films, and paint coatings. All of them find their app...
A new method of stimulation for the study of spinal cord injury has been developed
A team of scientists from the Pavlov Institute of Physiology, together with colleagues from St. Petersburg State University, has developed a new approach for stimulating the spinal cord using an electrode fixed in the bone tissue of the vertebrae. The study showed the dependence of the responses of various muscles on the vertebra in which the stimu...
A mathematical law has been discovered, according to which all biological objects of pointed shape grow: teeth, claws, horns
Scientists from Australia have developed a new growth rule that determines the shape and development of pointed biological structures in animals and plants, such as teeth, horns, claws, beaks and spines. The focus of a group of scientists from Monash University (Australia) Under the leadership of Alistair R. Evans, there has always been morphologic...
Geneticists traced the sources of the formation of the Scythians and Sarmatians
The origin of the Eurasian nomads-the Scythians and related Sarmatians-is shrouded in mystery, since they had no written language. There are several hypotheses of their origin. An international group of geneticists, anthropologists and archaeologists led by scientists from the Max Planck Institute for Human History (Germany) decided to analyze the ...
210 years since the birth of German chemist Robert Wilhelm Bunsen
Robert Wilhelm Eberhard Bunsen (30 March 1811 – 16 August 1899) was a German chemist. He investigated emission spectra of heated elements, and discovered caesium (in 1860) and rubidium (in 1861) with the physicist Gustav Kirchhoff. The Bunsen–Kirchhoff Award for spectroscopy...

Образовательный центр

Alive mind

Всемирный день творчества и инновационной деятельности 21 апреля
Пандемия наглядным образом продемонстрировала важность сферы культуры и творчества. Именно поэтому Организация Объединенных Наций назвала 2021 год —  Международным годом креативной экономики в интересах устойчивого развития. В этой связи ЮНКТАД, ЮНЕСКО, ВОИС, ЮНИДО, ВТО наметили целый ряд мероприятий, которые будут проводиться в течение г...
В ООН объявили о новой инициативе по очистке океанов от мусора
Сегодня побережье многих развивающихся стран усеяно пластиковыми бутылками, рыболовными снастями и разного рода упаковками. В период пандемии горы этого мусора пополнили одноразовые маски и перчатки. На днях учреждения системы ООН объявили о новой инициативе по борьбе с морским мусором и очистке мирового океана. В рамках нового проекта будет п...
Редкое африканское животное впервые сфотографировали в природе
Международная группа зоологов, возглавляемая учеными из группы исследований в области охраны дикой природы (WildCRU) Оксфордского университета, впервые в истории сделала фотографию редкого животного — дукера Вальтера — в национальном парке Фазао-Мальфакасса в Того. Раньше эти животные попадали в руки ученых только мертвыми с африканских м...
Химики СПбГУ создали возобновляемые полимеры на основе растительного сырья
Сотрудники лаборатории кластерного катализа Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета синтезировали полимеры из продуктов переработки биомассы. Особенность новых материалов заключается в простоте их рециклинга.                                   Соврем...
Разработан новый метод стимуляции для исследования травмы спинного мозга
Коллектив ученых из Института физиологии имени И. П. Павлова совместно с коллегами из Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета разработал новый подход для стимуляции спинного мозга при помощи электрода, зафиксированного в костной ткани позвонков. Исследование показало зависимость ответов различных мышц от позвонка, в котором располагается...
Открыт математический закон, согласно которому растут все биологические объекты заостренной формы: зубы, когти, рога
Ученые из Австралии вывели новое правило роста, которое определяет форму и развитие заостренных биологических структур у животных и растений, таких как зубы, рога, когти, клювы и шипы.В центре внимания группы ученых из Университета Монаша (Австралия) под руководством Алистера Р. Эванса всегда находилась морфологическая эволюция, то есть формы, кото...
Генетики проследили источники формирования скифов и сарматов
Происхождение евразийских кочевников — скифов и родственных им сарматов — окутано тайной, так как письменности они не имели. Существует несколько гипотез их происхождения. Международная группа генетиков, антропологов и археологов под руководством ученых из Института истории человечества Макса Планка (Германия) решила провести анализ геномов древних...
210 лет со дня рождения немецкого ученого-химика Роберта Вильгельма Бунзена
Роберт Вильгельм Бу́нзен (30 марта 1811 года, Гёттинген — 16 августа 1899 года, Гейдельберг) — немецкий химик-экспериментатор. Первые работы Бунзена касаются различных вопросов неорганической химии, но вскоре его внимание было привлечено арсеноорганическими соединениями. Результатом этих исследований стало...

Свидетельство о регистрации СМИ ЭЛ № ФС 77 - 79130 выдано Роскомнадзором 15.09.2020