Educational center

Alive mind

Octopuses can change color when they sleep. It turned out that this happens because of dreams
Biologists from the Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte in Natal, Brazil, found that octopuses have sleep stages: active and passive. And during the transition from one to the other, they change color. Researchers filmed four octopuses sleeping in a lab. The shooting lasted for several days. As a result, the scientists received 180 hours of r...
Physicists Discover the Elusive Odderon, First Predicted 50 Years Ago
Scientists are celebrating the long-sought discovery of the odderon, a strange phenomenon that appears only rarely when protons collide at high energies, such as inside particle accelerators. Though the odderon was first predicted to exist in the early 1970s, it wasn’t until recently that physicists finally gathered the data they needed at CE...
UN agencies call for urgent action to avert famine risk in 20 ‘hunger hotspots’
Famine is already on the doorstep of millions of families in 20 countries, two UN agencies warned on Tuesday in a report that calls for urgent action to avert rising hunger due to factors such as conflict, climate extremes and the COVID-19 pandemic. Yemen, South Sudan and northern Nigeria top the list,&...
World Water Day 22 March
The importance of water World Water Day, held on 22 March every year since 1993, focuses on the importance of freshwater. World Water Day celebrates water and raises awareness of the 2.2 billion people living without access to safe water. It is about taking action to tackle the global water crisis. A core focus of World Water Day is to support th...
The prehistoric "eagle shark" Aquilolamna combined the features of sharks and stingrays
The whale shark and the manta ray are perhaps the two most fascinating large fish of the ocean. Now scientists have announced the discovery of a prehistoric ancestor of both, which looked like a cross between them. Named Aquilolamna milarcae – or eagle shark-the creature belonged to a group of plate-finned fish that includes modern sharks and...
Scientists have proposed an unusual scenario for the origin of life on Earth
RIA Novosti. According to calculations by American and British scientists, lightning strikes could provide enough of the necessary phosphorus compounds to support the first life on Earth. For life to arise on Earth as we know it, we need a precisely balanced set of primary elements. One of them is phosphorus, a key component of DNA, RNA, and lipids...
Singapore scientists develop novel gene editor to correct disease-causing mutations
A team of researchers from the Agency for Science, Technology and Research's (A*STAR) Genome Institute of Singapore (GIS) have developed a CRISPR-based gene editor, C-to-G Base Editor (CGBE), to correct mutations that cause genetic disorders. Their research was published in Nature Communications on 2 March 2021. One in seventeen peop...
Sacoglossan Sea Slugs Can Shed, Then Regenerate Their Main Body
A biological phenomenon called autotomy is the voluntary shedding of a body part. It is common to distantly-related animals such as arthropods, gastropods, asteroids, amphibians, and lizards, and is generally followed by regeneration of shed terminal body parts, such as appendages or tails. In a new study published this week in ...

Образовательный центр

Alive mind

Осьминоги способны менять цвет, когда спят. Оказалось, это происходит из-за снов
Биологи из Федерального университета Риу-Гранди-ду-Норти в Натале, Бразилия, обнаружили, что у осьминогов есть стадии сна: активная и пассивная. И во время перехода из одной в другую они меняют цвет.Исследователи сняли, как спят четыре осьминога в лаборатории. Съемки длились несколько дней. В итоге ученые получили 180 часов записи для анализа....
Физики обнаружили неуловимого оддерона, впервые предсказанного 50 лет назад
Ученые-физики, работающие на Большом Адроном Коллайдере, отмечают событие, связанное с долгожданным открытием оддерона (odderon), странной неуловимой частицы, которая появляется на очень короткое время при столкновениях высокоэнергетических протонов. Существование оддерона было теоретически предсказано в 1970-х годах, и только недавно ученым удалос...
Двадцати странам мира грозит полномасштабный голод
20 стран мира нуждаются в срочной продовольственной помощи, в противном случае им грозит полномасштабный голод. C таким предупреждением выступили сегодня два учреждения ООН, занимающиеся вопросами продовольствия. Жители Йемена, Южного Судана и севера Нигерии уже оказались на пороге голодной смерти, предупреждают авторы доклада, подготовленного Всем...
Всемирный день водных ресурсов 22 марта
Вода — «краеугольный камень» жизниУчрежденный ООН в 1993 году Всемирный день водных ресурсов проводится ежегодно 22 марта. Этот день подчеркивает важность пресной воды.В настоящее время 2,2 млрд человек не имеют доступа к безопасной воде. Необходимы меры по борьбе с глобальным водным кризисом. Всемирный день водных ресурсов также направлен на подде...
Доисторическая «орлиная акула» Aquilolamna сочетала в себе черты акул и скатов
Китовая акула и скат манта – это, пожалуй, две самые очаровательные крупные рыбы океана. Теперь ученые объявили об открытии доисторического предка обоих, который выглядел как нечто среднее между ними.Названное Aquilolamna milarcae – или орлиная акула – существо принадлежало к группе пластиножаберных рыб, в которую входят современные акулы и скаты. ...
Ученые предложили необычный сценарий зарождения жизни на Земле
РИА Новости. Согласно расчетам американских и британских ученых, удары молний могли обеспечить достаточное количество необходимых соединений фосфора для поддержания первой жизни на Земле. Для возникновения жизни на Земле в том виде, в котором мы ее знаем, нужен точно сбалансированный набор первичных элементов. Один из них — фосфор, ключев...
Новый редактор генома исправляет однонуклеотидные мутации
Группа исследователей из Института генома Сингапура (GIS) при Агентстве по науке, технологиям и исследованиям (A*STAR) разработала редактор генов на основе «ножниц» CRISPR – C-to-G Base Editor (CGBE), который открывает возможности для лечения до 40% генетических нарушений, вызванных однонуклеотидными мутациями, передает портал&n...
Голова морского моллюска избавляется от старого тела и отращивает новое
Биологи Саяка Мито и Йоити Юса из Женского университета Нары обнаружили, что головы двух видов морских моллюсков из рода элизия способны  полностью отбрасывать старое тело и отращивать новое . Предположительно, моллюски таким необычным образом избавляются от паразитов.Автотомия — способность избавиться от какой-либо части тела или ор...

Свидетельство о регистрации СМИ ЭЛ № ФС 77 - 79130 выдано Роскомнадзором 15.09.2020