Educational center

Alive mind

Novosibirsk Scientists Research Solid Electrolyte Transfer Properties
2021-02-20 15:06 Scientists at NSU and the Institute of Solid State Chemistry and Mechanochemistry Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences (SSCMI) have moved closer to an understanding of the ion transfer process. Their research results were published in the “Structural Chemistry” journal. Everyone knows liquid electrolytes, they ar...
Cooling La Niña is on the wane, but temperatures set to rise: UN weather agency
2021-02-19 12:10 Temperatures in almost all parts of the world will likely rise between now and April despite the cooling influence of the latest La Niña weather phenomenon, which has passed its peak, UN climate experts said on Tuesday. “Impacts on temperatures, precipitation and storm patterns continue”, the World Meteorological Organi...
Biodegradable microcapsules deliver nerve growth factor to guide neuronal development
2021-02-17 12:25 Researchers from Skoltech and their colleagues have demonstrated that nanoengineered biodegradable microcapsules can guide the development of hippocampal neurons in an in vitro experiment. The microcapsules deliver nerve growth factor, a peptide necessary for neuron growth. The paper describing this work was published in the journal ...
Paleontologists have found a giant sloth with an age of 3.58 million years
2021-02-15 18:39 Paleontologists in Argentina have discovered what they say is one of the oldest known fossils of the Megatherium ground sloth. Megatherium is an extinct genus of ground sloths that lived in South America from the Early Pliocene (5 million years ago) to the late Pleistocene (11,700 years ago). The earliest and smallest known species of the genus is ...
Magnetic Fields Detected in Venus Flytraps
2021-02-13 14:26 When the vegetal “jaws” of the carnivorous Venus flytrap plant snap shut, they produce a small magnetic field, according to new research published last month in the journal Scientific Reports. This discovery is one of very few magnetic fields ever detected in plants, reports Yasemin Saplakoglu for Live Science. Researchers in...
A new single photon source with record-breaking performance has been developed
2021-02-11 14:39 Physicists from the University of Basel, Switzerland, and the Ruhr University in Bochum, Germany, have developed a new type of single photon source that can produce billions of these quantum particles in one second. With a record-breaking performance to date, this source is becoming a new and powerful "standard block" for a range of quant...
Native American facial features gene found
2021-02-09 20:22 RIA Novosti. A large-scale genomic study conducted in Latin America has revealed for the first time the genes that affect facial features. In particular, scientists have discovered that the gene that determines the shape of the lips in the native inhabitants of the American continent is very ancient and got them from the Denisovans. The study was b...
Injecting Sticky Nanoparticles with Drugs May Reduce Skin Cancer
2021-02-07 16:57 Researchers at Yale University have shown how skin cancer can one day be cured with a simple injection. A team of scientists has discovered that they can shrink tumors by injecting them with adhesive nanoparticles containing chemotherapy drugs. Located on the outside of the body, skin cancer is ideal for less invasive treatments. Recent studies hav...

Образовательный центр

Alive mind

Новосибирские ученые ищут объяснение транспортных свойств твердых электролитов
2021-02-20 15:06 Всем известны жидкие электролиты: именно они проводят электрический ток в самых обычных батарейках. Однако вместе с ними существуют еще и твердые электролиты: научное сообщество до сих пор спорит о том, как в них происходит перенос ионов. Тем не менее некоторые органические соли замещенного аммония обладают достаточно высокой ионной проводимостью в...
Охлаждающий эффект Ла-Ниньи не смягчает глобальное потепление
2021-02-19 12:10 В 2021 году природный феномен Ла-Нинья будет по-прежнему влиять на температуру воздуха, количество осадков и интенсивность экстремальных погодных явлений во многих регионах мира, в том числе в Центральной Азии. Об этом сообщают из Всемирной метеорологической организации (ВМО). С феноменом Ла-Нинья связано охлаждение поверхности океана в центра...
Биоразлагаемые микрокапсулы доставят фактор роста нервов для регенерации нейронов
2021-02-17 12:25 Исследователи Сколтеха и их коллеги провели эксперимент in vitro, в котором продемонстрировали возможность стимулировать рост нейронов в гиппокампе, используя биоразлагаемые нанокапсулы для доставки к нейронам фактора роста нервов (NGF), необходимого для этого нейропептида. Статья с описанием результатов исследования опубликована&nbs...
Палеонтологи нашли гигантского ленивца возрастом 3,58 миллиона лет
2021-02-15 18:39 Палеонтологи в Аргентине обнаружили, как они говорят, одну из древнейших известных окаменелостей наземного ленивца Мегатерия.Мегатерий – вымерший род наземных ленивцев, обитавших в Южной Америке с раннего Плиоцена (5 миллионов лет назад) до конца Плейстоцена (11 700 лет назад).Самый ранний и самый маленький из известных видов рода – Megatherium alt...
Листья-ловушки венериной мухоловки генерируют слабое магнитное поле
2021-02-13 14:26 Согласно новому исследованию, когда ловчие листья насекомоядного растения венерина мухоловка закрываются, они создают небольшое магнитное поле. Это один из очень редких примеров магнитных полей, обнаруженных у растений.Венерина мухоловка (Dionaea muscipula) встречается в природе в болотах восточной части США. Листья ее преобразованы в ловушки,...
Разработан новый источник единичных фотонов, обладающий рекордными показателями
2021-02-11 14:39 Ученые-физики из университета Базеля, Швейцария, и Рурского университета в Бохуме, Германия, разработали источник единичных фотонов нового типа, который способен вырабатывать в одну секунду миллиарды этих квантовых частиц. Обладающий рекордным на сегодняшний день показателем эффективности, этот источник становится новым и мощным «стандартным б...
Найден ген индейских черт лица
2021-02-09 20:22 РИА Новости. Масштабное геномное исследование, проведенное в Латинской Америке, позволило впервые выявили гены, влияющие на черты лица. В том числе ученые обнаружили, что ген, определяющий форму губ у коренных жителей американского континента, очень древний и достался им еще от денисовцев.Основой для исследования послужили данные полноген...
Инъекции липких наночастиц с лекарствами могут уменьшить рак кожи
2021-02-07 16:57 Исследователи из Йельского университета показали, как однажды рак кожи можно будет вылечить с помощью простой инъекции. Команда ученых обнаружила, что они могут уменьшить опухоли, вводя в них адгезивные наночастицы, содержащие химиотерапевтические препараты.Располагаясь снаружи тела, рак кожи идеально подходит для менее инвазивных методов лечения. ...

Свидетельство о регистрации СМИ ЭЛ № ФС 77 - 79130 выдано Роскомнадзором 15.09.2020